Introducing Lucas Ross

3422782471_e6959642d6

Born April 7 at 10:12am. My water broke at 1am on the dot. I had been feeling crampy on and off since 7pm April 5.

He’s 8lbs (just like Cayden) 19 inches
nursing great!

My contractions started at 1:45am but were really light and I slept and breathed through them until 8am or so, thats when I needed to make deep sounds. I had back labour but Tyson helped me through that with pressure on my back. 
My contractions kept being irregular so we weren’t sure when to call the midwife. Sometimes they were 20 min apart sometimes 5 min. When I had 3 contractions, each 2 minutes apart, Tyson said ‘I’m calling Beth!’ Then they went back to every 10 minutes or so.
Beth arrived just after 9am. She was thinking it was going to be awhile yet, so didn’t call her backup. 
At around 10am I told Beth I was feeling pushy, so Tyson and her asked if I had wanted to get into the pool. (I had mostly been on my side lying on the bed) I got in the pool and 5 minutes of pushing later, I lifted my baby onto my chest. 
It was so fast, his head and body came out in one short contraction. I totally recommend feeling with your hand for the head, because last pregnancy I didn’t and I tore really bad in three places, where as this time I have a teeny tear not in need of stitching 

I’m feeling GREAT! I have quite a bit of energy, but I’m also enjoying how restful it is around here.
This is our first day of visitors, so we’ll see how it goes.

Cayden missed the birth, but I think it worked out how it was supposed to. He went to playgym with Nana about 20 minutes before Lucas was born, and I was just able to focus.

My birth affirmation that got me through was ‘I breathe my body to open’ I also liked ‘I release all tension from my body’

8 Comments

  1. Linnea said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Amazing! Congratulations Dawn! Hello little Lucas, you are absolutely beautiful!

  2. Linnea said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Edit to that last post: Congratulations Dawn and Tyson!!

  3. suzanne said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    congrats dawn, he is beautiful. what a lovely birth story too. i used the same affirmations during the birth of garret, and beth was there cheering me on too. we all can’t wait to meet lucas… bring him to lunapads anytime!

  4. Angela Konieczny said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Congratulations Dawn and Tyson!
    Wow, another boy! I had a feeling…
    We are so happy for you!
    We can’t wait to meet you, Lucas. You’re beautiful!
    What a wonderful birth story.
    Much love,
    Angie, Haydn and Zara.
    P.S. Let us know when it’s ok for us to come visit. I know it’s going to be very busy for the next little while.

  5. Kam said,

    April 8, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Nicely done! We’re looking forward to seeing you all and meeting Lucas soon soon. Many congrats 🙂

  6. Marlene De Boer said,

    April 8, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    No idea who you are but I got this email///
    So congratulations with your healthy baby anyway..

  7. laura said,

    April 11, 2009 at 6:05 am

    I got here through MDC somehow or another 😉

    Congratulations!

  8. Kirsten said,

    April 17, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    He looks SO beautiful Dawn, you and Tyson must be over the moon…. I am so happy for the three of you, what a blessed addition to your wonderful family. And what a beautiful birth story, sounds like a supremely welcoming way to come into the world, lovely… I wish all of you the best with your sweet Lucas & his new *big* brother Cayden.

    xo,

    Kirsten & Finney


Leave a Reply

