Birth…what if?

Why not think “what if?!” in powerful ways- “What if I have the most beautiful experience of my life? What if I could actually feel a wet, mewing baby on my belly–just after birth–and fall in love with that feeling forever? What if I give birth and feel pure ecstacy? What will happen in my life if I give birth as a powerful, free woman–what will happen in my life if I claim my right to give birth as my biological destiny impels me to? What if I emerge victorious, free, setient, powerful? What if–what if my baby never feels anything in her first moments other than my body and my love? WHat if I push my baby out into my own hands, and pull her up, and kiss her wet head, and cry and moan and weep my joy in private, darkness and love–what if… what if my birth is the most loving, sweet and gentle moment of my life? What if…” What will happen if we stop asking the medical profession [family, friends, horrid TV shows, and others] to feed us fear about our … births? We will finally become as powerful and wise as we are intended to be. We will finally stop rushing to be rescued, induced, and c-sectioned. We will change the way the world spins…

1 Comment

  1. Joni said,

    September 12, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Hi, I’m not sure if you wrote this, or who did, but I had a friend print it and give it to me, and I hung it in my bathroom and read it every day for a month before I gave birth to a beautiful little girl, at home, just as it says in the poem. Thanks so much for posting it.


Leave a Reply

